Gamescom 2022: How to Watch, Schedule, and What to Expect

Gamescom 2022: How to Watch, Schedule, and What to Expect

Gamescom 2022 is nearly upon us and promises to, once again, be one of the biggest weeks in gaming. The show will be in-person for the first time since 2019, with 500+ companies attending the event. Like last year, Gamescom will be filled with reveals, demos, news, interviews, and so much more.

It's a lot to take in, so IGN will be there to bring you all the latest and greatest moments as they happen. This watch guide will provide everything you need to know to watch Gamescom and IGN's biggest events within, including when events start, a list of places you can stream them live with us, and what you can expect to see at Gamescom 2022. Jump to:

When is Gamescom 2022?

Gamescom 2022 will take place in Cologne, Germany, and will run from August 23 through August 28.

It will be held in-person at Koelnmesse and will also have online elements of course!

The world's biggest game conference gamescom is back, and IGN will be there bringing you all the announcements, reveals, and new games! Welcome to #gamescom2022! pic.twitter.com/q7TCTwoeQi[1][2]

-- IGN (@IGN) August 16, 2022[3]

Gamescom 2022 Schedule

See the below full schedule for Gamescom including IGN's live coverage throughout the event:

Tuesday, August 23

Opening Night Live - 11am PT/2pm ET/8pm CEST Geoff Keighley's Opening Night Live will once again kick off Gamescom 2022 and will feature some of the biggest and exciting announcements of the show.

IGN's Opening Night Live After Show - 12:30pm PT/3:30pm ET/9:30pm CEST IGN will have follow-ups after the show, recapping the biggest announcements with interviews, deep dives and exclusive reveals.

Wednesday, August 24

Gamescom Studio Day 1 - 6am PT/9am ET/3pm CEST Day 1 of IGN's live coverage highlighting new trailers, exclusive interviews, and more:

  • Forspoken
  • The Callisto Protocol
  • A Plague Tale: Requiem
  • Pentiment
  • Warhammer 40,000: Darktide
  • CYGNI: All Guns Blazing
  • Eiyuden Chronicle: Hundred Heroes
  • Skull and Bones
  • Ghostbusters: Spirits Unleashed
  • Isonzo
  • Steelrising
  • And more!

Thursday, August 25

Gamescom Studio Day 2 - 6am PT/9am ET/3pm CEST

Day 2 of IGN's live coverage for even more exclusives:

  • Street Fighter 6
  • Microsoft Flight Simulator
  • Stray Blade
  • All Elite Wrestling - Fight Forever
  • Wreckreation
  • Metal: Hellsinger
  • HUBRIS
  • Spongebob Squarepants: The Cosmic Shake
  • The Dark Pictures Anthology: The Devil in Me
  • Dakar Desert Rally
  • Alone in the Dark
  • And more!

Hellsinger Live at Gamescom - 10am PT/1pm ET/7pm CEST

Friday, August 26

Gamescom Studio Day 3- 6am PT/9am ET/3pm CEST IGN's live coverage wraps up with final interviews and more trailers ahead of the Award Show on Saturday!

  • Company of Heroes 3
  • Sifu
  • Vikings on Trampolines
  • Gungrave Gore
  • Session: Skate Sim
  • Endless Dungeon
  • System Shock
  • High on Life
  • Off the Grid
  • And more!

Awesome Indies - 8:30am PT/11:30am ET/5:30pm CEST IGN is excited to be showcasing some of the most anticipated, new indie games being shown at Gamescom!

Saturday, August 27

Gamescom Award Show - 6am PT/9am ET/3pm CEST

Tune in to see the best of the best at Gamescom and find out who takes home the coveted Gamescom Award.

Sunday, August 28

Cosplay Contest - 6am PT/9am ET/3pm CEST To wrap up the event on Sunday, be sure to catch some of the most unique, creative and exciting cosplay that Gamescom has to offer. (FAQs here[4] on the cosplay contest).

How to Watch Gamescom

Here's the full list of places you can watch the Gamescom 2022 streams:

What is Gamescom?

Gamescom is one of the world's largest events for computer and video games and features some of the biggest announcements and reveals of the year as well.

What to Expect at Gamescom 2022

It has already been confirmed[5] that over 500 companies have registered for Gamescom 2022, and the list includes such studios as 2K, 505 Games, AMD, Bandai Namco, HoYoverse, Humble Games, HyperX, Koch Media, Raw Fury, SEGA Europe, Team17, THQ Nordic, Thunderful, Ubisoft, Xbox, and more:

With over 500 companies registered so far, #gamescom2022[6] is shaping up to be AMAZING! We can't wait to be back in person.

You can find our press release here: https://t.co/9f4D0ov2hA[7] See you in Cologne! #aheadofthegame pic.twitter.com/dgyfrFSEEv[8][9]

-- gamescom (@gamescom) July 7, 2022[10]

Geoff Keighley's Opening Night Live will once again kick-off Gamescom 2022 and will be a roughly two-hour live show that will feature "game announcements, world premieres, and more on a huge stage!" Gamescom represents the entire spectrum of the gaming community. From indie to triple A, action, family, single-player or multiplayer games.

Recap of Gamescom 2021

While we have yet to learn much of anything regarding what will be in the 2022 show, Opening Night Live 2021 did include:[11]

What are you hoping to see at Gamescom this year?

Let us know in the comments.

References

  1. ^ #gamescom2022 (twitter.com)
  2. ^ pic.twitter.com/q7TCTwoeQi (t.co)
  3. ^ August 16, 2022 (twitter.com)
  4. ^ here (support.koelnmesse.com)
  5. ^ confirmed (twitter.com)
  6. ^ #gamescom2022 (twitter.com)
  7. ^ https://t.co/9f4D0ov2hA (t.co)
  8. ^ #aheadofthegame (twitter.com)
  9. ^ pic.twitter.com/dgyfrFSEEv (t.co)
  10. ^ July 7, 2022 (twitter.com)
  11. ^ Opening Night Live 2021 (www.ign.com)